Crochet a little happiness (3): Rainbow poncho

wearing the rainbow
Wearing the rainbow

Elise proudly wearing the rainbow poncho I finished today. This is the only smile she has given today as she is not feeling well; she has a nasty cough that sounds like it could be an asthmatic cough, she sounds exactly like her brother Martyn did when he was her age.

 
Anyway, Elise and I took a trip to our local craft shop on Tuesday and she loved the chance to look at all the wool. She was so excited to be able to choose the colours (although we did have a disagreement about whether pink was in the rainbow or not).
 
Normally when we go into shops I ask her what the rules are, and she’ll reply “don’t touch and don’t run off” well on this trip she was allowed to touch, after all she had to know how soft it would be as she would be wearing the finished product – she was so excited!
 
I’m not too happy with the shade of orange, it seems a bit too yellow, and the yellow isn’t particularly bright, but on reflection I think it looks ok – and she’s happy so that’s all that matters. I have loads of the wool left, so the next task is a big rainbow blanket. I don’t know whether I am going to do a big ‘granny square’ or if I’ll do it as a circle, I guess I won’t know that until she tells me what she wants.
 
Unfortunately I am running out of time to crochet things nows, the next module of my law degree starts on the 4th February, so will soon have my head back in the books. It will be good to study again, but I’m going to miss the creativeness and happiness-giving crochet time.
 
I have been keeping a note of some Twitter trends that I particularly like and when I have some more time to concentrate, without having ‘tired-mummy-brain’ I will update my blog with them. I will also get on with the book reviews (when I can remember what the books were about) and I’m feeling fresher and more able to concentrate. I haven’t forgotten.
 
Anyway, I am going to wish everyone a good night and try to get some sleep before the coughing wakes Elise up again – it’s been a rough few days/nights! We have a follow-up appointment with our family doctor a week tomorrow so hopefully we shall get some answers and a plan for managing her coughing.

One comment on “Crochet a little happiness (3): Rainbow poncho

  1. Pingback: Update | jdaviesx

Leave a comment